QAU Syndicate approves long-delayed promotions

ISLAMABAD: The apex decision-making body of the Qauid-i-Azam University (QAU) known as Syndicate has finally approved long-delayed promotion cases of three senior associate professors, Daily Times has learnt.

At the same time, the Syndicate also upheld previous decisions regarding demotions of two faculty members.

Sources disclosed that the Syndicate met under chairmanship of Vice Chancellor Dr.Javed Ashraf in the Conference Room of the university on Tuesday. The Syndicate ratified promotions of Dr Zafar Nawaz Jaspal, Dr Nazir Hussain and DrMona Liza as professors.

Sources added that that the promotions had been lingering on since July 2015. After basic scrutiny, the promotional files of Dr Jaspal and Dr Hussain were presented before the Selection Board of the University in 2015. The Board vetted the cases accordingly.

However, an official privy to the development, who requested not to be named, said that the vice chancellor was not in favour of promote the above said assistant professor despite the fact that they were holding all required qualification and credentials.

According to the Higher Education Commission (HEC) prescribed requirement for the appointment of a professor to any higher education university or degree awarding institute (DAI), a desiring candidate must have a PhD degree from a HEC recognised institution in the relevant field as well as 15 years teaching/research experience (with at least eight years post-PhD level experience in an HEC recognised university or post-graduate institution or professional experience in the relevant field in a national or international organisation).

Besides, the candidate should have 15 research publications, including at least five publications in the last five years in HEC’s recognised journals.

The promotion files were in process, said a faculty member, who himself was on TTS at the time when an application forwarded to vice chancellor demanded his elevation to professor. As per rules, it is necessary for such faculty member to resign from TTS slot for applying against BPS post.

Subsequently, the VC constituted one-member probe committee, comprising Wajid Rana, former member of Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC), who is also said to be a close mate of VC Dr Ashraf.

The committee presented its report to previous Syndicate, which simply rejected the findings and recommended promotions of Dr Jaspal and Dr Hussain, sources said.

They added that the then Social Sciences dean Aliya H Khan raised objection, saying that the promotions could not be barred as per the university set rules. “Dr Khan, however, later paid the price for voicing her concern as she had been removed from her position.”

Moreover, a meeting of all four deans of the varsity had made a decision that these faculty members were eligible for promotion.

The aggrieved members approached the court to find relief for their rights. They also filed a similar appeal to incumbent Syndicate.

Subsequently, the apex body constituted an inquiry committee to look into the matter. The committee was headed by Special Assistant to Prime Minister Barrister Zafarullah Khan and MNA Tahir Iqbal, Rafique Tahir, Dean Waqar Shah and Syndicate Member Tassawar Hayat.

The Syndicate sanctioned the promotions in the light of the committee’s decision.

“Moreover, the promotion of Dr Mona Liza promotion is pending for the last three years despite the fact that she fulfils the said criteria set by HEC, sources said.

Published in Daily Times, January 25th 2018.