21-member committee formed to ensure preventative measures against smog

District Administration has formed a 21-member committee on smog issue in order to ensure implementation on the preventative measures of smog, likely to appear next month.

In this regard, the authority issued a notification, nominating 21 members of different departments.

A spokesperson of the District Administration said that 21-member committee will work jointly and will ensure implementation of smog policy and on the steps to be taken by departments which were decided in a meeting held three days before.

The committee prioritises that action would be taken against air polluting industries and vehicles, stubble/crop residual material burning, waste burning and dust causing activities.

He informed that the committee will meet on fortnightly basis whereas the authority focuses on social mobilisation, public awareness, prevention and legal action on all activities for smog formation.

According to the notification, Deputy Commissioner Lahore Captain (r) Anwarul Haq will be the chairperson of this committee. Additional deputy commissioner Lahore is its convener/secretary while chief metropolitan officer, health chief executive officer, education CEO, City Capital Police Officer, City Traffic Officer, all assistant commissioners, district forest officer, civil defence officer, district information officer, representatives of Brick Kilns Association and Steel Mills Association will be its members.

He further said that the deputy commissioner has ordered all departments to launch social mobilisation and public awareness drive in the city. This committee will meet on fortnightly basis.

Separately, District Administration Lahore has set up a Control Room at the DC Office, Nadir Hall to monitor the processions and majalis during Muharram for which all necessary arrangements have been taken. This control room will remain functional around the clock where the representatives of different departments like Lahore Waste Management Company, Water & Sanitation Authority, Lahore Electric Supply Company, police, civil defence, Rescue 1122, metropolitan and others would perform their duties in two shifts. Similarly, in this regard, the DC has assigned duties to 56 officials who would perform their duties in two shifts. AC Khawar Bashir has been nominated as focal person while Umar Saeed would provide technical assistance in control room.

Published in Daily Times, September 12th 2018.