Pakistan announce squad for Asia Cup

LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the 16-men squad for the upcoming Asia Cup scheduled to be played in United Arab Emirates (UAE) from September 15.

The Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq announced the squad here on Tuesday.

The squad remained unchanged with two or three changes from the last team played 5-match ODI series against Zimbabwe.

The alrounder Muhammad Hafeez, Yasir Shah and Imad Wasim have been dropped out from the 16-member squad while the emerging 18-year-old fast bowler Shaheen Afridi and opening batsman Shan Masood included for the 6-nation tournament.

The 16-member team includes, Sarfaraz Ahmad (Captian),  Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Imam ul Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Usman Shinwari and Shaheen Afridi.

Pakistan will play a group match against a qualifier on September 16 and against India on September 19. The tournament will begin on September 15 with the final on September 28.

This year’s Asia Cup will feature India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan while the sixth team will be determined via a playoff that includes UAE, Hong Kong, Nepal, Singapore, Malaysia and Oman.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts

  • Trending

Woman approaches court over accusation against Babar Azam

A woman who had raised allegations against Pakistani cricket team captain Babar Azam of sexual…

17 mins ago
  • Pakistan

Shafqat Mahmood urges students to study at home, revise courses

Minister for Education Shafqat Mahmood has expressed that the decision to close educational institutions was…

24 mins ago
  • Pakistan

Shahid Afridi gives shut up call to Afghanistan player for misbehaving with Muhammd Amir

KARACHI: Pakistan’s former captain and flamboyant all rounder Shahid Afridi got everyone’s attention on Monday…

46 mins ago
  • Business

Latest Gold Rate For Nov 30, 2020 In Pakistan

Today Gold rates in Pakistan, 30 Nov 2020 are being sold for Rs 91,500 per…

3 hours ago
  • Business

Latest Gold Rate For Dec 1, 2020 In Pakistan

Today Gold rates in Pakistan, 1 Dec 2020 are being sold for Rs 91,020 per…

3 hours ago
  • Op-Ed

Pandemic Politics

Let me start by saying I am no public health policy expert and my musings…

8 hours ago