DUET approves civil, electrical and mechanical engineering programmes

* The Academic Council of the university also gave a go ahead for a four-year bachelors programme in Computer Science during evening hours

KARACHI: Dawood University of Engineering and Technology’s academic council has recommended establishment of three new academic departments. The decision was taken at the 7th Academic Council meeting held on Thursday. The meeting was chaired by Vice Chancellor Dr. Faizullah Abbasi.

The minutes of the 6th Academic Council meeting were also approved at the meeting. Approval was also granted for the minutes of the Board of Advanced Studies and Research (BASR) meetings.

Faculty of Engineering dean Dr. Abdul Waheed Bhutto and Dr. Zeeshan Ali were elected as members of the discipline committee, while membership was given to three teachers namely, Nizamuddin, Rafique Rehmat and Faisal Nawaz for the board of the Faculty of Engineering.

Furthermore, the Academic Council recommended to the Syndicate to establish departments of Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering after obtaining No Objection Certificates (NoCs) from the Higher Education Commission (HEC) and the Pakistan Engineering Council (PEC).

In principle, it was decided that Bachelors of Computer Science (four-year degree programme) in evening hours will be launched by the Department of Computer System Engineering and a BS Mathematics (four-year degree programme) in evening hours will be launched by the Department of Basic Science, Mathematics and Humanities. The NOCs from the Higher Education Commission (HEC) will be obtained before the launch of both BS programmes.

The meeting was attended by members of Academic Council Pro Vice Chancellor Dr. Pir Roshan Din Shah Rashdi, Dean Faculty of Engineering Prof. Dr. Abdul Waheed Bhutto, Academic Coordinator Dr. Dost Ali Khowaja, Registrar Engr. Capt. (r) Syed Waqar Hussain Shah, Controller Examination Gul Muhammad Bhayo, Chairpersons of all department, Director of Postgraduate Studies, Director QEC and others.

The Vice Chancellor expressed gratitude for the members of the Academic Council for making it convenient to attend the meeting. He also thanked external members – Dr. Irfan Haider, the dean of CoBM and Ihsanullah Laghari, the deputy secretary (nominated for Education secretary’s post).

 Published in Daily Times, February  9th2018.